*OS Internals::Volume I - User Mode

Table of Contents

(some parts still moving around, but as far as coverage goes, this is pretty complete)

  1. About This Book
  2. Darwinism: The Evolution of *OS
  3. E Pluribus Unum: Architecture of *OS
  4. Promenade: A tour of the *OS Files & Directories
  5. ????? : System and UX Services
  6. Automatic for the People: Application Services
  7. Mach-O-nations: The Mach-O File format
  8. In the darkness, bind them: dyld internals
  9. Parts of the Process: Processes, Threads and the Grand Central Dispatcher
  10. In Memoriam: Process Memory Management
  11. CFRun - RunLoopRun: The Runtime Environments
  12. The Medium is the Message: Mach IPC
  13. Ex Mach-ina: Mach Primitives
  14. eXPliCation: XPC internals
  15. The Alpha & Omega - Launchd
  16. Follow Me: Process Tracing and Debugging

  17. GUI, hardware, networking, connectivity, filesystems (HFS+, APFS) and kernel - are covered in Volume II